There is a lot of information out there about what can happen to you if you are pulled over for a DUI. The vast majority of resources state the obvious, like the fact that you will face fines or that you could lose your license. It is harder to find information about what to expect when it is all happening to you. The following is a list of 5 things you might not know will happen to you when you are arrested for a DUI:
Your license is revoked
Many people know that your license can be revoked, but when dealing with a DUI charge, that revocation is automatic and will last for a year. In Georgia, there is just a ten-day window to file for an administrative appeal, leaving you very little time to try to keep your driving privileges. Even if you’ve never been to court, you may lose your driving privileges. Furthermore, if you refuse to take the state-administered tests, you will not qualify for a limited driving permit and will face a 12 month “hard suspension”. If you have received a DUI, do not wait to call the Patterson Firm at (770) 422-8840. They can help you prepare the strongest defense.
You can be handed multiple DUI tickets
There are many different types of DWI and DUI charges. The typical alcohol charges in Cobb county are “less safe” and “per se”. You can be arrested in Georgia even if you are not above the “legal limit” of intoxication. This is where DUI “less safe” comes in. With a “less safe” charge, you do not have to be found above the “legal limit” with a breath test. A “per se” ticket can be given to you on top of the “less safe” ticket and means that you were above the legal limit of intoxication. There are also different DUI charges for drugs or multiple substances. At the end of the day you will only be charged with one DUI, but to make sure the DUI charges stick, an officer can ticket you for every DUI type that is present.
The money trail doesn’t stop with fines
While many people know that DUI fines can be very expensive, they may not be thinking of the whole picture. When you plead guilty to a DUI, you not only face fines, but also fees, surcharges, probation costs, tickets, DUI School, increases in insurance rates (both car insurance and life insurance), and the DMV fees when you are finally allowed to get your license back. Getting a DUI comes with a very large price tag if you aren’t careful about your case. The price is extremely steep if you drive drunk. Statistics show that a single DUI charge can cost you $20,000.
DUI charges don’t go away
DUI charges become part of your permanent record and cannot be erased for any reason. A record restriction will sometimes be granted if you are not found guilty. However, this doesn’t necessarily mean that the DUI arrest will be taken off your record; that only happens in rare cases. Once you have plead guilty to a DUI, it will be on your record forever, so this type of offense needs to be taken very seriously.
You will take multiple tests
After being pulled over, you may be asked to take a breath test with a field instrument. If you are arrested you will likely be asked to take another breath test with a more reliable machine at the station. This machine is inspected regularly by the state and is more accurate than the ones found in the field. The arresting officer may also ask for a blood or urine sample. It is at the discretion of the arresting officer which test you are given. If you refuse to take the state-administered test, it will be noted that you refused. If you wish to, you may pay to take the test of your choice from an approved lab, but this can only be done after you have submitted to the state-administered test.
If you have received a DUI call The Patterson Cozzo Law Firm at (770) 422-8840.